Doin’ It Right: Another Introduction

As I mentioned in my original post, I’m really wanting to do this  blog thing “right” this time. With that in mind, I’ve signed up for an online blogging course, which is proving to be awesome. Looks like for the next few months, though, more often than not, I’m going to be a “weekend warrior”; thankfully, there are no assignments given for the weekends.

I know it’s probably poor form to do it this way, but it’s my freakin’ blog, so I can do whatever I like. These are the questions I was asked to answer as part of my introduction. Perhaps later, if/when I have the energy, this info will be moved to my “about” section!

  • Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

Interesting question. I also keep a personal journal, and in a lot of ways, they’re the same. I know that a blog has an audience, but for the purpose of this one, I think it will more or less serve as a journal that “speaks back” from time to time. Also, if there’s a following (even if it’s only in the darkest recesses of my imagination), I’ll try harder to articulate and to post more regularly. I think. We’ll see how that goes.

  • What topics do you think you’ll write about?

That remains to be seen. My life is not very interesting, but it has changed a lot and will continue to change. Hopefully, I can connect with some others who are on journeys of their own, and we can inspire each other. At the moment, topics that spring to mind are my (hopefully) blossomming long-distance relationship, possible future study, my life now, pets, HoH/TiH relationships, DD, literature, book reviews, non-parenthood, weight loss, exercise, lifestyle changes, life as an expat, and just day-to-day drudgery. Exciting, right?

  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

People with similar interests and experiences. People with disparate interests and experiences. Most of all, people with more experience in my areas of interest. Just overall connections with great people, I suppose.

  • If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

Hmmm… food for thought. I hadn’t really thought about the future in terms of this blog. Well, it would be great to come to some conclusions, making for a more interesting blog. Sometimes reading over old posts/entries helps to put things into perspective for making decisions about the future and life in general. It would be great if I could have a decent following, but given the nature of the blog, that’s not an expectation. If I could write as a primary source of income, that would be fantastic, but again, PIPE DREAM!

That’s all for now, I suppose. And it’s only a week late. Go me!

Leave a Reply

